75.0%
10.0%
15.0%
Questions
# | Section | Question | Expected Answer | Assistant Response | Judgment | Comments |
---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
1 | C8 |
If a defender fires a panzerfaust at a tank that is moving in the MPh and the tank is only visible for 1MP, then what is the target-based to-hit DRM?
|
+4 DRM
|
The target-based to-hit DRM when a defender fires a Panzerfaust at a tank that is moving in the Movement Phase (MPh) and is only visible for 1 MP is +4. This is because Case J2 applies, which is defined as Defensive First Fire at a moving vehicle that has spent ≤ 1 MP in the firer's continuous Line of Sight (LOS). According to the manual, Case J2 equals Case J (+2) plus an additional +2, resulting in a total modifier of +4【4:2†source】.
|
Correct | - |
2 | A24.4 |
When is White Dispersed SMOKE removed from play?
|
White Dispersed SMOKE is removed at the start of the owning players next PFPh.
|
White Dispersed SMOKE is removed at the start of the owning player's next Prep Fire Phase (PFPh), at which point the player's white SMOKE counters are flipped over to the white Dispersed side【4:0†source】.
|
Partial |
The answer said the white SMOKE counter is flipped, but the question was about White Dispersed SMOKE.
|
3 | A9.74 |
When a unit is elimiated by KIA on the IFT table, is the SW destroyed?
|
Make a dr on the same column of the IFT for each SW/Gun possessed by the eliminated units. A -1 DRM applies to the SW Destruction dr if the KIA ws due to a fully-tracked AFV OVR. If the Final dr is a KIA, that SW/Gun is eliminated; if it's a K, that SW/Gun is malfunctioned.
|
When a unit is eliminated by a KIA result on the IFT (Infantry Fire Table), the SW (Support Weapon) it possesses may be destroyed through Random SW/Gun Destruction. After a Final KIA result occurs, a die roll is made on the same column of the IFT for each SW/Gun possessed by the eliminated unit. If the Final die roll also results in a KIA, then that SW/Gun is eliminated. If the roll results in a K, the SW/Gun is malfunctioned, or eliminated if it was already malfunctioned or had an "X#" contact【4:1†source】.
|
Correct | - |
4 | A26.11 |
Does an enemy MMC under DM prevent the other player's ground unit from gaining control of a hex or building?
|
Yes, an MMC under DM is considered an armed enemy ground unit, which prevents the opposing player's MMC from gaining control.
|
An enemy MMC under Desperation Morale (DM) does not prevent the other player's ground unit from gaining control of a hex or building. According to the rules, a side gains control of a Location/hex/building by occupying it with an armed Good Order Infantry MMC without the presence of an armed enemy ground unit in that same Location/hex/building【4:5†source】. Disrupted units, which might be in a similar broken status as units under DM, do not prevent enemy movement into or through their hex【4:10†source】. Therefore, an enemy MMC solely under DM would not be considered an armed enemy ground unit that prevents controlling the hex/building.
|
Incorrect |
It got wrong that an enemy MMC under DM is considered an armed enemy ground unit.
|
5 | A.8 |
If squad A is on the ground floor and shares a common hexside with squad B, which is on the first floor of the building, are the squads considered ADJACENT?
|
No, because to be ADJACENT, squad A would need to be able to advanced in APh into the location of Squad B, which isn't possible.
|
The squads are not considered adjacent if one is on the ground floor and the other is on the first floor, even if they share a common hexside. This is because adjacency in Advanced Squad Leader typically requires both squads to be on the same level of elevation. The rules specify that units on different levels within the same hex cannot see or target each other with fire, which implies they are not considered adjacent for purposes like movement or combat engagements【4:16†source】.
|
Partial |
It got the answer right, but the explanation was wrong.
|
6 | A4.34 |
How do you determine LOS when Infantry are using Bypass movement?
|
The ATTACKER has the option to make its one allowed LOS check per attack to either hex vertex along a hexside traversed by a unit moving in Bypass (thus a choice of two vertices for one hexside Bypass, three vertices for two hexsides Bypassed, etc.)
|
To determine Line of Sight (LOS) when infantry are using Bypass movement in Advanced Squad Leader, you need to consider these specific rules:
1. **Vertices Options**: A unit firing at an infantry unit using Bypass does not have to trace its LOS to the center of the target hex. Instead, the firing unit has the option to make its one allowed LOS check per attack to either hex vertex along a hexside traversed by the unit moving in Bypass. This creates multiple options for determining LOS: two vertices for one hexside Bypass, three vertices for two hexsides Bypassed, and so on【4:0†source】.
2. **Open Ground Bypass**: If the LOS of the firing unit reaches an Open Ground Bypass hexside vertex unobstructed, that unit can claim a LOS and a First Fire -2 DRM for non-Assault Movement in the open【4:0†source】.
3. **Obstacles**: A wall or hedge in the target hex is not considered an obstacle to LOS even if the target unit may be in Bypass on the other side of that hex. However, the wall or hedge's TEM applies if it is crossed by the LOS【4:0†source】.
This provides a tactical advantage to firing units against those using Bypass movement, as they can exploit the lack of cover typically involved in Bypass maneuvers.
|
Correct | - |
7 | A4.431 |
When can transfers of SW/Guns occur?
|
During the RPh, at the start of their APh, or as a result of the creation of a sub-unit from an MMC
|
Transfers of SW (Support Weapons) or Guns can occur under specific circumstances in Advanced Squad Leader. They can be transferred between different Good Order unpinned units in the same location during specific phases: the Rally Phase (RPh), at the start of their Advance Phase (APh), or as a result of creating a sub-unit from a Multi-Man Counter (MMC)【4:15†eASLRB_v2.07-postprocessed.pdf】.
Additionally, personnel units can drop or change possession freely at no movement factor cost during their Movement Phase (MPh), Advance Phase (APh), or the start of the Close Combat Phase (CCPh)【4:6†eASLRB_v2.07-postprocessed.pdf】. The transfer or recovery of a SW/Gun on a vehicle in motion can only be achieved by the passengers or riders of that vehicle【4:15†eASLRB_v2.07-postprocessed.pdf】.
|
Correct | - |
8 | A12.122 |
If a half squad is in open ground, but out of LOS of enemy ground units, what does it have to roll on a single die to gain concealment?
|
A three or less, because the required dr needs to be less than or equal to five after drm, which in this case is a +2 because of the US# of the half squad.
|
To gain concealment, a half squad in open ground but out of the line of sight (LOS) of enemy ground units must roll a 5 or less on a concealment dr (die roll). The modifier for the concealment roll includes +2 for being a half squad, according to the concealment rules. Therefore, the original dr must be 3 or less for the half squad to successfully gain concealment【4:3†source】.
|
Correct | - |
9 | A15.1 |
When is Heat of Battle invoked?
|
A Heat of Battle DR follows any Original MC or Rally (not Self-Rally) DR of 2.
|
The Heat of Battle is invoked following any Original Morale Check (MC) or Rally (not Self-Rally) Dice Roll (DR) of 2. It does not apply to certain unit types or situations, like unarmed units, Cavalry, Heroes, participants in a Human Wave, or units that are already berserk, among others【4:0†source】.
|
Correct | - |
10 | A15.23 |
What is the DR modified when a Hero fires an MG?
|
The DR modifier is zero because the +1 to To Hit or IFT DR from firing the machine gun alone is offset by the -1 Heroic DRM
|
When a Hero fires a machine gun (MG), the Die Roll Modifier (DRM) applied is +1. However, this modifier is negated by the heroic DRM itself. Essentially, the Hero's inherent ability effectively cancels out the +1 DRM applied for firing the MG【4:2†eASLRB_v2.07-postprocessed.pdf】.
|
Correct | - |
11 | A8.26 |
A 16-firepower Defensive First Fire attack on a hex has a LOS that goes through two grain hexes. What is the Residual Fire Power in the attacked hex?
|
4. 16 FP divided by 2 and then shift on the IFT to the left by two columns.
|
The calculation for Residual Fire Power (RFP) when firing through hindrance hexes like grain is given by the rule that a Defensive First Fire attack results in an RFP counter being placed in the target hex. This RFP counter is equal to half of the highest Initial Fire Table (IFT) Firepower column used for that attack, rounded down (Fractional Reduction Down, FRD), up to a maximum of 12【4:14†source】.
For a 16-firepower attack going through two grain hexes, the firepower is halved due to "Area Fire" for each hindrance hex. Grain hexes add a +1 Hindrance DRM, typically leading to halving the firepower for passing through each grain hex.
Hence, a 16-firepower attack through one grain hex would normally be resolved as an 8-firepower attack on the IFT (halved once for area fire). When passing through two grain hexes, it would be resolved as a 4-firepower attack (halved once more), using a 4 FP column on the IFT. The Residual FP would thus be half of 4, resulting in 2 RFP, after FRD【4:14†source】【4:17†source】.
|
Incorrect |
It got confused about the calculation
|
12 | A15.1 |
What is the result of a Heat of Battle DR of an 8 when the squad is a Finnish squad that is Broken?
|
Battle Hardening
|
A Heat of Battle roll (DR) of 8 for a Finnish squad that is broken would result in Battle Hardening, as the Final Heat of Battle DR falls within the 5-8 range, which according to the rules leads to Battle Hardening【4:0†source】.
The Heat of Battle table specifies that:
- A DR of 5-8 results in Battle Hardening (15.3)
Moreover, Finnish squads receive a -1 DRM in Heat of Battle due to their Finnish nationality, which would apply to the overall Final DR【4:0†source】. However, since the squad is broken, there is a +1 DRM added to the Finnish modifier. This results in a net DRM of 0 for this specific roll【4:1†source】. Thus an original DR of 8 results in a Final DR of 8, which still falls in the Battle Hardening range.
|
Correct | - |
13 | A8.4 |
If a DEFENDER's unit is mark with a First Fire Counter, under what conditions can it for in Defensive Fire Phase (DFPh)?
|
The unit can fire only at adjacent or same hex enemy units.
|
A unit marked with a First Fire counter can fire during the Defensive Fire Phase (DFPh) under the following conditions: it may only fire at adjacent enemy units and must follow the constraints of Final Fire, which includes having its Firepower (FP) halved prior to any Point Blank Fire doubling or tripling. When it fires during the DFPh, the First Fire counter is flipped over to the Final Fire side【4:0†eASLRB_v2.07-postprocessed.pdf】.
|
Correct | - |
14 | A6.7 |
If a defenders unit, while making an Assault Movement Move, is attacked by Defensive First Fire from a squad where the LOS goes through an Orchard hex, what is the DRM modifier to the attack?
|
The DRM modifier is +1 from the Orchard.
|
When a defending unit using Defensive First Fire attacks a unit performing Assault Movement, the -1 DRM for First Fire Non-Assault Movement (FFNAM) does not apply, but the LOS hindrance from the orchard does apply if the Line of Sight passes through the orchard.
For an attack through an orchard hex, a +1 DRM for LOS Hindrance per orchard hex applies【4:14†source】.
Therefore, if the LOS goes through one orchard hex while the defender's unit attacks during its Defensive First Fire, the total DRM modifier is +1, due to the LOS Hindrance from the orchard. The -1 DRM for FFNAM is not applied because the moving unit is using Assault Movement【4:4†source】.
|
Correct | - |
15 | A9.222 |
If a squad is Assualt Moving into open ground with Smoke that is under attack by a Fire Lane, what is the DRM for that attack?
|
DRM = 0. There is no DRM modifier for SMOKE for a fire lane, but the Smoke does cancel FFMO.
|
The DRM (Die Roll Modifier) for an attack against a squad Assault Moving into open ground with Smoke under a Fire Lane would be affected by several factors:
1. **Assault Movement**: A unit using Assault Movement in open ground is subject to the -1 FFMO (First Fire Movement in the Open) DRM but not to the -1 FFNAM (First Fire Non-Assault Movement) DRM【4:2†source】.
2. **Smoke**: If Smoke provides a Hindrance to the Line of Sight between the firer and the target, it negates the -1 FFMO DRM. Since the presence of Smoke acts as a hindrance, it removes the application of the FFMO DRM【4:6†source】.
3. **Fire Lane**: Fire Lanes have their own handling of residual firepower and are usually applied first against moving units; however, the hindrance from Smoke is still factored in during the attack【4:9†source】.
Therefore, while Assault Movement typically reduces DRM penalties for movement into open ground, the presence of Smoke would generally negate the -1 FFMO DRM, resulting in no negative DRM being applied for movement purposes under these conditions. However, any DRM due to Smoke Hindrance would still apply.
|
Correct | - |
16 | A5.1 |
What is the IFT DRM modifier of an attack on a hex that contains four squads?
|
-1 IFT DRM
|
When an attack is made on a hex that contains four squads, which exceeds the normal stacking limit, there is a penalty of adding one to the IFT/CC DR for each squad equivalent by which they exceed normal stacking limits. In this case, placing four squads in a location exceeds the stacking limit by one squad (since the normal limit is three squads), thus the IFT DRM is +1【4:2†source】.
|
Incorrect |
Confused attacking vs. being attacked
|
17 | A4.42 |
A squad carrying 5 portage points has how many Movement Factors?
|
2
|
A squad carrying portage points in excess of its Inherent Portage Capacity (IPC) will have its Movement Factor (MF) reduced. Each squad has an Inherent Portage Capacity (IPC) of 3 Portage Points (PP). If a squad carries more than 3 PP, it loses 1 MF for each PP carried in excess of its IPC. Therefore, a squad carrying 5 PP would have its MF reduced by 2, since it is carrying 2 PP over its IPC.
The basic MF for a squad is 4. By carrying 5 PP, the squad would lose 2 MF, resulting in a total of 2 MF for that movement phase【4:6†source】.
|
Correct | - |
18 | A7.36 |
A 5-4-8 squad has Assault Fire and is pinned. It is attacking in the APh. What is its FP?
|
3
|
A 5-4-8 squad with Assault Fire that is pinned while attacking in the Advancing Fire Phase (AFPh) will have its firepower (FP) modifications as follows:
1. The basic FP is halved because it is the AFPh, where all firepower is generally halved【4:18†source】.
2. Being pinned further halves the FP【4:2†source】.
3. The squad has Assault Fire, which allows it to add 1 FP after all other modifications and rounding up any fractions【4:0†source】【4:4†source】.
Calculating the FP:
- Start with an inherent FP of 5.
- Halve this for the AFPh: \(5 / 2 = 2.5\).
- Halve it again due to being pinned: \(2.5 / 2 = 1.25\).
- Apply Assault Fire bonus: \(1.25 + 1 = 2.25\), which rounds up to 3 using Fractional Rounding Up (FRU)【4:0†source】.
Therefore, the final FP of the pinned 5-4-8 squad with Assault Fire in the AFPh is 3.
|
Correct | - |
19 | A10.63 |
A broken leader that is not under DM and has a Morale Level of 8 on its broken site is trying to self-rally in open ground. What is the maximum value it can roll and still Rally?
|
7
|
A broken leader attempting a self-rally in open ground incurs a +1 DRM penalty for self-rally. If the leader is not under Desperation Morale (DM) and has a broken morale level of 8, the leader would need to roll a 7 or less to successfully rally, considering the +1 self-rally penalty.
Therefore, the leader needs to roll a maximum value of a 7 to rally successfully in open ground.
This is because the self-rally rule applies a +1 DRM penalty to the rally attempt, and the rally succeeds only if the final dice roll is equal to or less than the broken morale level. There are no other terrain modifiers applied because open ground does not provide any DRM for rally attempts【4:2†source】.
|
Correct | - |
20 | A14.21 |
What happens if the Sniper Random Location DR lands the Sniper on a hex that contains neither an eligible target or the enemy sniper?
|
Sniper counter, the attacking Sniper counter is moved to, and will attack, the hex closest (in hexes) to that target hex which does contain one/both of them. Should ≥ two such hexes be equidistant, the Location with the lowest TEM is the target.
|
If the Sniper Random Location DR results in a hex that contains neither an eligible target nor the enemy sniper, the attacking Sniper counter is moved to the closest hex that does contain an eligible target or an enemy sniper. If there are two or more such hexes that are equidistant, the Sniper targets the Location with the lowest Terrain Effects Modifier (TEM)【4:0†source】.
|
Correct | - |